Sunday, January 31, 2010

I know, I am not good at updating this thing!

Ok sorry for such a delay. As I'm sure some of you are aware of, I've been pretty busy. Sundays are my only day off, and even then I'm busy studying for Monday's exam and EMT, doing laundry at a laundry mat and going to the grocery store, which are all located in town.

News for ya'll.
So besides being busy with academy and EMT, a couple of us parkies (that's what we call ourselves, it's spose to be insulting but we like it) having been playing against the fire academy a couple times a week in basketball and on Thursday, when we were playing, I decided to sacrifice myself almost literally to try and save a ball going out of bounds. Well...I don't even remember if I did save it but ended up going head first into a metal bleacher. Yes Metal bleacher versus my skull. Don't really remember too much of it, I did hear a loud sound (my skull hitting metal, as you could assume) and then hearing voices and opening my eyes (note I was pretty dizzy) to about 12 firefighters and parkies surrounding me. As some of you may know my initial reaction to accidents, I got up quickly noting to everyone I was fine just a bit dizzy. Also, I noticed a big dent, from my noggen, on the metal bleachers (I'll try and take a pic of it). My head didn't hurt to bad but I think I had too much adrenaline to notice and sat out of the game for about ten minutes...then went back in to play. After that, I drove my roomie and I home, and I was fine, just my head, shoulder and arm (all right side) were hurting, but I'm a touch cookie!

When I woke up the next morning, as you would guess, I had a splitting head ache. My body was sore and I wasn't feeling to hot. As I got to school, the pain progressed to the point where I was starting to become nauseous. So I went to my commander who insisted I go get my head checked out at Urgent Care--not something I wanted to hear at that point of the day considering my condition.

So after heading over to urgent care, the doc confirmed that I had a mild concussion--also not something I wanted to hear.

Doc's orders: go home and rest for the next 48 hours (meaning no class for the day and I couldn't go to EMT class on Saturday)
As soon as my headache goes away, then one week after that, I can then head back to normal activity *meaning basketball, running, soccer, etc. and then two weeks after that, I can be totally back to normal.

Which doesn't really help since we start defensive tactics on Thursday of this week... I ust can't get hit in the head...

So I've spent the last couple days, watching movies and tv shows on my computer, trying to study and napping while getting the two hour phone call from my mom to make sure I'm still conscious. (Thanks mam)

But I'm fine, just resting and getting better. I'm not use to this whole, do less thing, especially being told I can't do anything active :(. But hopefully I will return to norm in the next week or two...I've considered wearing my bike helmet around ...but thought that might be a little too much.

Miss everyone and my head condition has been getting better, so no need to worry.

From what the guys told me, it was a pretty awesome sight to see... :)

Monday, January 11, 2010

From my trip El Norte







Here are some pics of my trip to Washington. It was a frigid and exciting adventure with my pops! Camped out in a WalMart parking lot outside Redding because of the snow, seeing Seattle for the first time, My new home in the LC, and Driving through Deception Pass!

On to my second week of academy. Had our first exam and first PEB test, passed both!! made my best 1.5 mile run today around 10 min and some change....booya!! In the rain none the less! But I've been pretty busy with class, studying, working out and not to mention I'm taking an EMT class which takes up all of my Saturday, but luckily this weekend we have Monday off, so I'm gonna try to get all my work done Friday night so I can have me some fun this weekend!!

Washington is really nice, despite the lack of sunshine, but I really like it up here, I'll try and take some landscape pics. I live in a really cute town out in the country. Hit the town this last week hit up the brewery and the local brew pub...starting to become a local! Roomies are great too! It seems like we've been doing this for a while! I can't believe it's only the second week! It feels like I've been here for months!! I miss everyone but you guys should come and and visit!! Washington had some beauty country that I have yet to explore!!!

Saturday, January 2, 2010

Welcome to La Conner where the playas play

I made it!! After a severely bruised hand, flat tire, blizzard, and freeway closure, my 28 hour road trip (should have been 22!) I made it to my new home in La Conner, WA. Pictures to come soon, but I'm really excited to start academy Monday. Roomies have all arrived as well. We live in a sick gated community with a 9-hole golf course, beach (it's cold, it ain't no southern california beach mind you) tennis courts and swimming pools (not heated). La Conner itself is actually a village and has cute shops, a brewery, restaurants, grocery store, post office, bank, and drug store. I have a balcony that goes off of my room and overlooks the neighborhood. One thing though is I do miss the sun...haven't seen it since I have arrived! It's rained every day and has been cold, but it's nice. I'm not complaining it's just different and I know I'll be having fun!