Sunday, January 31, 2010

I know, I am not good at updating this thing!

Ok sorry for such a delay. As I'm sure some of you are aware of, I've been pretty busy. Sundays are my only day off, and even then I'm busy studying for Monday's exam and EMT, doing laundry at a laundry mat and going to the grocery store, which are all located in town.

News for ya'll.
So besides being busy with academy and EMT, a couple of us parkies (that's what we call ourselves, it's spose to be insulting but we like it) having been playing against the fire academy a couple times a week in basketball and on Thursday, when we were playing, I decided to sacrifice myself almost literally to try and save a ball going out of bounds. Well...I don't even remember if I did save it but ended up going head first into a metal bleacher. Yes Metal bleacher versus my skull. Don't really remember too much of it, I did hear a loud sound (my skull hitting metal, as you could assume) and then hearing voices and opening my eyes (note I was pretty dizzy) to about 12 firefighters and parkies surrounding me. As some of you may know my initial reaction to accidents, I got up quickly noting to everyone I was fine just a bit dizzy. Also, I noticed a big dent, from my noggen, on the metal bleachers (I'll try and take a pic of it). My head didn't hurt to bad but I think I had too much adrenaline to notice and sat out of the game for about ten minutes...then went back in to play. After that, I drove my roomie and I home, and I was fine, just my head, shoulder and arm (all right side) were hurting, but I'm a touch cookie!

When I woke up the next morning, as you would guess, I had a splitting head ache. My body was sore and I wasn't feeling to hot. As I got to school, the pain progressed to the point where I was starting to become nauseous. So I went to my commander who insisted I go get my head checked out at Urgent Care--not something I wanted to hear at that point of the day considering my condition.

So after heading over to urgent care, the doc confirmed that I had a mild concussion--also not something I wanted to hear.

Doc's orders: go home and rest for the next 48 hours (meaning no class for the day and I couldn't go to EMT class on Saturday)
As soon as my headache goes away, then one week after that, I can then head back to normal activity *meaning basketball, running, soccer, etc. and then two weeks after that, I can be totally back to normal.

Which doesn't really help since we start defensive tactics on Thursday of this week... I ust can't get hit in the head...

So I've spent the last couple days, watching movies and tv shows on my computer, trying to study and napping while getting the two hour phone call from my mom to make sure I'm still conscious. (Thanks mam)

But I'm fine, just resting and getting better. I'm not use to this whole, do less thing, especially being told I can't do anything active :(. But hopefully I will return to norm in the next week or two...I've considered wearing my bike helmet around ...but thought that might be a little too much.

Miss everyone and my head condition has been getting better, so no need to worry.

From what the guys told me, it was a pretty awesome sight to see... :)

No comments:

Post a Comment